Halloween & Other Spooky Fun; TGIF

Hello again. You know, given the amount of time some on my other projects (working 40 hours a week, sleeping, writing for Post Somerville),sometimes I think I might just be better off writing a lame little goodbye note and closing this little blog down.  I mean, I don’t post regularly enough to have a super loyal following, and although there’s a generally consistent theme (happenings that I think are cool), it’s not compelling stuff.  Depending on what I feature, I can have anywhere from 15 to 100+ people look at a post.  So inconsistent!  I  love wedding/DIY event blogs, fashion blogs, and I look forward to reading Kat Richter’s dating blog After I Quit My Day Job while I eat my oatmeal most mornings.  (Fact: I was originally going to use this blog as a platform to rehash my crazy OKCupid dating stories, but totally chickened out.  Reading her blog makes me wish I had just gone for it, although I run into enough OKC dates after the fact that the risk of major awkwardness would have been pretty high.)  I’m starting to feel as though my efforts to largely keep my personal life out of my writing has stunted this little blog’s potential.  Don’t get me started on  how I keep meaning  to redo the design…sigh.  Consider this little whiny tangent fair warning that I’ll be experimenting with some different elements in an attempt to revamp this little blog.

Anyways, enough kvetching, here’s some fun stuff to do this weekend in Boston:

1. Tonight some of my friends and I will be getting into costume and heading to Downtown Crossing for Bootie Boston at Good Life.  Our thinking is that if a sweaty basement bootleg mash up dance party is normally a really fun time, then a sweaty basement bootleg mash up dance party in costume is going to be ridiculously epic.  Doors open at 9:00 PM, 21+, $5 cover.

See? They look like they're having fun.

2. It stands to reason that bars all over town are organizing shows of local bands dressing up and playing the songs of other (more famous) bands; it’s the ultimate Halloween rock star fantasy.  If you like Wilco and Ryan Adams, you should go to Rosebud Bar; if you like Ziggy Stardust, MGMT, Passion Pit, and Weezer, go PA’s Lounge.  If, on the other hand, you like Britney, Madonna, and Lady GaGa, well, then you should go to Church.  These shows are all happening Saturday.  Tonight, of course, is Great Scott‘s 8th Annual The Pill Halloween Show; The Honors will be covering Morrissey, the Bearstronaut will be covering The Rapture, and Vostok 4 will be covering The Talking Heads.  Check the venue’s sites for ticket info, etc.

3. If you’re just looking for something normal and non-Halloween-related to do this weekend, then perhaps you should consider checking out the Boston Vegetarian Food Festival on Saturday and Sunday.  In its 15th year, the BVFF is being held at the Reggie Lewis Athletic Center on Tremont Street from 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM on Saturday and 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM on Sunday.  It aims to be a fun resource for both vegetarians and those just trying to find new ways to eat more healthily through the use of vendor booths and lectures.  Admission and parking are both free; there will also be complimentary food to sample.

4. Sunday will also mark the last SOWA Open Market of the season (sad face).  Hundreds of vendors offering artisanal food products, crafty items you never knew you needed, cute clothing, and pretty much anything else you can think of will be converging for one last time at 460 Harrison Ave in the South End before the Big Chill settles in for good.  This very special Halloween edition of SOWA will also be offering free treats, pumpkin carving, live music, and an undead costume contest with a grand prize of $250.  I may or may not have a very irrational fear of zombies, but I will definitely be making an effort to swing by and check out the fun at SOWA this Sunday.

Tricks, Treats, & Love,

Lauren

1 Comment

Filed under Boston, Dance Party, Somerville, TGIF, weekend

One response to “Halloween & Other Spooky Fun; TGIF

  1. emily

    the world wants dating stories. also, cute shit from SOWA.

Leave a Reply

